Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Difference in performance/use RS Flat Slide vs CR Round Slide - wrist fatigue 27 Jul 2022 12:25 #871136

• 577nitro
  • 577nitro's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 55
All,

I'm currently running Mic RS34 FS on my 81 GPZ1100, and find them to perform fine, however, they are extremely heavy/stiff in operation.   I find I can't really blip the throttle fast and without heavy return springs they stick open.  I also get wrist fatigue after about 45 minutes and it just makes for an unpleasant experience.    I have adjusted them, reduced the spring tension, lubed the cables, routed the cables as straight as possible but it still is just too stiff.  What I'm thinking (and hoping) is that the CR's are less stiff and easier on the wrist.   I haven't used them before so I have no experience to go on, and would hate to buy them and find out they suck/are super stiff as well.   

Performance wise the RS34 are great, easy to adjust make great power.  I've even thought of making a servo helper or some kind of vacuum assist.   I know CV's are far lighter, the BS34, and I might eventually have to go that route.   There is noway I'm reverting to that lousy FI system though.  

My question is anybody running the CR's could chime in on their operation and extended ride use.  

Thanks
577Nitro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Difference in performance/use RS Flat Slide vs CR Round Slide - wrist fatigue 27 Jul 2022 13:38 #871144

• Scirocco
  • Premium Member
  • Never change a running system
  • Thank you received: 1892
The RS throttle slider can bind under heavy vaccum to the carb body, so you need an extra throttle cable for closing. The Mikuni TMR carbs have slider bearings that didn´t bind!

Difference in performance/use RS Flat Slide vs CR Round Slide - wrist fatigue 28 Jul 2022 05:49 #871189

• daveo
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 622