Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

No Spark, Please Save Me 10 Jun 2020 16:08 #827806

• BikeNoob
  • BikeNoob's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I have recently purchased a garage kept, 1978 Kz650-B2. I am a relative newbie when it comes to bike mechanic/electrical but I wanted to learn some new stuff so here we are.

When I got the bike the owner had given up on working on the bike as a project but it was pretty good condition for its age. He claimed the stator was burnt and needed to be replaced and the bike would start up, sounded suspicious but I didn't care and I got the bike anyway. Replaced the stator immediately and the bike didn't start up. Push to start had the engine rotating but I found the ignition coils were fried.

Since then I have done quite a bit of work on this bike but have failed to get her started up. I am fiending to ride this thing so hopefully one of you could possibly give me some insight into what I could check out to determine what I need to work on to get this thing running again!

First thing I did was change the oil, clean out the carburetors, gas tank, and petcock. New ignition coils, new battery, new stator, and several new fuses as the bike only came with the original 20a fuse and was missing the other 2 10a fuses. The bike still has its original contact breaker points, the surfaces are slightly rough but I set the gap nonetheless and set the timing as well. The points spark when I try to start the bike so they aren't completely useless yet.

I tested out the ignition coils again to see if I am getting a spark to the spark plugs but I got nothing using the classic screwdriver in the plug boot test. What else should I check out, rectifier/regulator? The fuses have been rewired as well to support car fuses so perhaps there is an issue in that region still. If anyone has any info to offer me it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
78' KZ650-B2 (Under Construction)
Attachments: