Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

How do you \"clean a carb\"? 14 Aug 2006 21:04 #69524

• Jerka
  • Jerka's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Sorry for the total Noob question, but I am buying a 76 KZ400 this weekend. It has 31,000 miles on it and has been sitting in storage for the past 2 years. Everything looks good and it runs, but the guy says it runs a little rough and that the carbs could probably use a cleaning.

I am new to motorcycles, but I am fairly mechanical...what does "cleaning the carbs" consist of?

Can I do it or should I take it somewhere?

How much would it cost?

How long would it be out of commission?

What do I need (cleaners, fluids, etc.)?

Any good tutorials?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do you \"clean a carb\"? 15 Aug 2006 07:35 #69586

• medic24
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
Sitting in storage for 2 years...... guaranteed carbs need cleaned. Do a search of the forum and you will find PLENTY of info, and lots of differing opinions. Welcome to the world of Kawasaki!

How do you \"clean a carb\"? 15 Aug 2006 08:19 #69604

• buz0340
  • User
This is something that if you are at all mechanically inclinded should be pretty easy so I would not bring it in. They will rip you off in my perspective. I would advise buying a manual for your motorcycle if you plan on doing any maitnance yourself.

Back to your questions:

Cost can vary a lot. Depending on how far you want to go. You can replace all of the parts right away by purchasing a carb rebuild kit which includes jets, needles and some other stuff. They are prob under $20 per carb. www.z1enterprises.com/ Or you can just do a good clean and you will get it running better.

Time will also be dependent on how much you want to do and how good you are. Your first time will prob take an afternoon to make sure you dont miss anything.