• Page:

TOPIC:

Carb question 06 Oct 2020 13:20 #836299

• bSzemanKZ440
  • bSzemanKZ440's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Mechanical Engineering student
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello! I just recently picked up a 1980 KZ440 B1 that I traded an old computer for. I have no experience working on bikes, a little with cars, but I would consider myself pretty mechanically inclined.
It seems like most of the parts are there, I've traced down all the wiring, a few loose ends here and there but most of them are pretty solid. I already bought a battery, a sealed ytx9-bs, which the previous owner told me was correct. It doesn't have the throttle grip or cable, for sure needs a new clutch cable since it doesn't like to go back on its own once its pulled, and it'll probably need a new brake cable since its super hard to pull. I ordered the right throttle handle that comes with the electronics assembly and the left handle, and ordered an OEM throttle cable.
I haven't got into the carb yet, the guy I got it from before said he rode it not too long ago but he has 12 bikes he's working on so he had no time for his cheaper bikes (hence trading it for an old computer) but he said the carb probably doesn't need to be rebuilt, but a cleaning wouldn't hurt.
My question right now though, what are the two nipples on the bottom of the carb for? If a line goes there, where does it lead to? Also, where does the throttle cable go on the carb?
Let me know what info you guys need, and thanks for the help! Also attached a pic of my baby, let me know if even from looking at it from the outside, if you can tell me what it needs, I can use all the help. And yes I know it needs a seat :S
Thanks!
1980 KZ440-B1
1981 KZ650 CSR
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Carb question 06 Oct 2020 16:29 #836310

• bSzemanKZ440
  • User
Don't know why my pictures uploaded sideways, sorry!
1980 KZ440-B1
1981 KZ650 CSR

Carb question 06 Oct 2020 19:53 #836326

• Nessism