Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Carb questions with pics 11 Jul 2006 22:07 #61279

• Torch
  • Torch's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey, i was wondering if i posted pics of my carbs if i could find out a little more about them. I know there Mikuni's, but im new to these bikes and was wondering if they varied models of carbs over the years.

Also, if you guys could look and see if theres anything missing....besides the breathers.....that i should know about. In one of the pictures im holding what looks to be either a vent line....or a really really long vaccum tube thats not currently connected to anything. The bikes almost impossible to start when cold, but once you get it hot...it fires up no problem.

The bike seems like it tries to fire up easier with the choke off, i don't even get a hit with the choke on. Automatically i thought that its getting too much fuel on the idle circuit, but the only way you can get the bike to start is with starting fluid....so that doesn't really make any since. Im thinking its going to need a rebuild, then set to baseline, synched and tuned. Anyone have any jet reccomendations, the engine is a 76-77 Z1 in a 78 KZ B2 bike. Im at about 700 ft. above sea level. Has a 4 into 1 header and an aftermarket slip one. Im not aware of any internal mods, so i can't answer any questions there. I was thinking about running the 4 individual air filters instead of trying to chase down a factory breather.

Oh yeah, and are the nipples on the bottom of each carb just drains?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Carb questions with pics 11 Jul 2006 22:09 #61281

• Torch
  • User
Right hand side
Attachments:

Carb questions with pics 11 Jul 2006 22:09 #61282

• Torch
  • User
This is the hose i was talking about
Attachments:

Carb questions with pics 12 Jul 2006 04:28 #61317

• btchalice
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7