Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Engine runs but dies when i release the clutch 15 Dec 2005 07:58 #13295

• tw..
  • tw..'s Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
I have a 1995 KZ 1000 police bike that I'm bringing back to life after being in storage for 3 years.

So far what i've done is cleaned the tank, cleaned the carbs (i'm not a pro w/carbs so something may not be right), charged the battery. I was able to get the bike running so i decided to test drive the bike around the yard and when i released the clutch the bike died. tried it and again and it died again. the third time i got the rpm's up and it wanted to die but i kept giving it gas until i got it moving.

I know this isn't normal. Where do i go from here? could there still be something blocking the carbs? Oh during my test drive i did not have the air box boots connected to the carbs. They are a beast to get back on. Could that be the problem?
2-1976 KZ900 A4
1995 KZ1000 Police bike
1978 Z1R

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Engine runs but dies when i release the clutch 15 Dec 2005 08:07 #13296

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
I had a GPz750 that would do exactly the same thing if the air filters were not on it, start instantly and rev great in neutral, but as soon as I put it in gear and tried to take off it would fall flat on it's face, put the filters back on and it eas fine. So yes, I think it probably is the lack of filters. :)
KD9JUR

Engine runs but dies when i release the clutch 15 Dec 2005 08:24 #13303

• tydeus
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Stupid question, but is your kick stand up?

Engine runs but dies when i release the clutch 15 Dec 2005 10:09 #13322

• tw..
  • User