Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Another petcock probelm here... 14 Apr 2007 10:56 #130035

• Tyler
  • Tyler's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 92
My bike has a vacuum petcock (I have no experience with these) that isn't working. It has three settings RES, ON, and PRI (prime). The carbs only get fuel in RES or PRI, it will eventually starve in the ON position. So I have a couple of questions.

1.Is the diaphram just stuck, can it be fixed by cleaning it? If I need a kit wich type/supplier is best?

2.IS PRI drawing fuel higher up in the tank than RES setting? I don't want to find out the hard way.
If I knew what I was doing all the time life wouldn't be any fun.

'80 KZ650 E 700cc, dyna ignition and coils, frame up restoration, daily driver
'81 KZ1300 A3 full restoration, custom big bore pistons, 1400cc 6 cylinder super bike
"77 KZ650 B1 - Barn Find, work in progeress
"74 Yamaha DT 400 Enduro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Another petcock probelm here... 14 Apr 2007 11:09 #130040

• KaZooCruiser
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
Prime draws fuel from the reserve port, without the vacuum actuation. RES and ON both need engine vacuum to operate. . .

I think I have my facts straight here. . .I have one of these things and I regularly have trouble with it. . .

Because you indicate your RES works, I would guess your vacuum system is probably working.

I think it was Patton that indicated somewhere in this great big board that sometime rust particles get past the in-tank screen and lodge into the main fuel feed. I think that is what is happened with my bike partially, due to it's aggravating habit of starving for fuel at inappropriate mileage intervals.

Take it out of the tank, pull the screen, and maybe you can flush out the standpipe. . .that is what I plan on doing later today. . .

Hope it works for you and me. . .

:whistle:

Another petcock probelm here... 14 Apr 2007 12:16 #130054