Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

My First Rebuild Project. 19 Aug 2007 15:44 #164910

• Hawk_77336
  • Hawk_77336's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone I’m new to the site and wanted to introduce myself and share my project (I know I am going to need some pointers down the road.) I have been riding motorcycles for many years and love to ride. I have an 05 Yamaha Road Star Warrior that I have done some modifications on, but nothing big. I have always wanted to build my own bike from the ground up but that is a lot of time and money. Then a couple of weeks ago this 1978 KZ 650 fell into my lap for free, so I thought it would be a great chance for me to see what I could do.

So after getting the history of the bike and doing some research on price and availability of parts I have decided to take on this challenge. The last owner (21 year old kid) had the carbs off and sprayed them with some cleaner and was not able to get the bike to run. He did not have the money to do much more than that with it and then he moved out of his grandfather’s house. He left the KZ there. His grandfather is a good friend and I help him around his house with projects whenever he needs it (Lives two house’s down) and asked me to come and get it out of his way, that he needed the room in his shed and that is how I became the new owner of an old 1978 KZ 650.

I plan to take it down to the frame and sand and paint the frame, then work my way back up to a completed and hopefully running KZ. I will make a few modifications but want to keep it old school as my friends have classified my new project, but that may change. I know that I am going to take my time and do it right or to the best of my abilities, so hope you guys don’t mind if a post a question now and again, I will also try to post a picture as things move along. Here are a couple of first day home pictures.

Here are some pictures after I got the dirt and junk cleaned off.