Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Handmade fiberglass cafe fairing how-to UPDATED MAY 22 15 May 2006 18:50 #47546

• bkitchen
  • bkitchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I am going to try to post a how-to on the fairing I am working on. Here is a before pic of my bike with a cafe fairing I had bought. I think it sits a little high and forward looking. I wanted something smaller too. Not as small as the flyscreens you see on newer bikes but smaller than this one.

Post edited by: bkitchen, at: 2006/05/22 15:28
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Handmade fiberglass cafe fairing how-to 15 May 2006 18:55 #47551

• bkitchen
  • User
This is only the 3rd project I have tried in fiberglass, so I am no expert.:P I started with a base form made from plywood with some metal lath(used in tile and stucco work). I cut and formed the lath to create the compound curve. This base will also add some strength to the fairing. The little headlight visor is made from a piece of drywall corner bead. It looks a little odd at this stage.
Attachments:

Handmade fiberglass cafe fairing how-to 15 May 2006 19:00 #47552

• bkitchen
  • User
Next I covered it in an old heavy weight t-shirt material. Pulling it tight so there are as few wrinkles as possible. Hot glue it as you go on the back side. Use a dark fabric if possible. After putting on the fabric mix up your fiberglass resin as stated on can. DO THIS OUTSIDE!!! Fumes are real bad. Paint and dab with paint brush onto fabric. By using the dark fabric you can see where you have put it easier.
Attachments:

Handmade fiberglass cafe fairing how-to 15 May 2006 19:03 #47554

• bkitchen
  • User
When dry I sanded some and then added more resin with some fiberglass mat to the inside of the fairing for strength. By doing it on the inside you still get the smoothness of the fabric on the outside. I didn't get a pic of this step.