Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Low compression, Valves or Rings? 01 Aug 2006 01:33 #66272

• LTD1Krider
  • LTD1Krider's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hopefully someone can help. I am new at this so any help would be appreciated. I bought a 79 KZ1000 LTD with 36000 miles on it. It runs really rough, bogs down when trying to accelerate and will not idle (even when warm) unless partial choke is applied.

Spark looks OK (its blue, not orange), I installed new plugs, checked the air filter, cleaned the carbs and changed the oil and filter. It had the wrong oil filter in it (small, I believe the filter was for a 81 KZ).

After cleaning the carbs, I started it up and noticed that there was air pressure coming out of the crankcase breather. That didn't seem right so I bought a cheap tester to check compression. Here are the readings I got.

cyl#1 dry ~125 wet ~155
cyl#2 dry ~80 wet ~155
cyl#3 dry ~100 wet ~180?
cyl#4 dry ~110 wet ~155

The wet readings were taken after adding 1 tablespoon of motor oil to each cylinder. Any ideas? Could it be valves or is it more likely rings? I will check the valve clearances tomorrow.

Also, does anyone know where I can find help locally. I live in Tracy,Ca (central california) but am close to the San Francisco Bay Area.

Thanks
Ernest

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Low compression, Valves or Rings? 01 Aug 2006 04:45 #66279

• btchalice
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
with the wet change and blowing out the breather its definately rings.
id help you fix it but im 1500 miles away
Terry Meyer / Wichita KS
76 kz900 w/1000 motor TWZTD
I am not driving too fast, I'm flying too low.

Low compression, Valves or Rings? 01 Aug 2006 07:16 #66302

• OKC_Kent
  • User
  • Thank you received: 20
When you took the compression readings did you have the throttle held wide open? That's very important.