• Page:

TOPIC:

Chain and Sprocket question 30 Jul 2006 14:45 #65909

• SimonTemplar
  • SimonTemplar's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey all,

I'm a newbie, just bought my first bike. Its a '77 KZ750. Working on cleaning it up etc. Anyway I need to replace the chain and while I'm at it figured I should do the sprockets as well.

I was wondering what recomendations you guys could give me. Doesn't have to be stock, just what will fit and what works well in your experience.

thanks for the help :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Chain and Sprocket question 30 Jul 2006 14:55 #65911

• Biquetoast
  • User
  • King Jeremy The Wicked
  • Thank you received: 7
SimonTemplar wrote:

Hey all,

I'm a newbie, just bought my first bike. Its a '77 KZ750. Working on cleaning it up etc. Anyway I need to replace the chain and while I'm at it figured I should do the sprockets as well.

I was wondering what recomendations you guys could give me. Doesn't have to be stock, just what will fit and what works well in your experience.

Welcome!!

Make sure you do some searches, as we've discussed this topic alot.
I'm glad to hear you're replacing the sprockets with the chain - it's almost always a good idea.

I run a 17/38, and the stock is 16/38. I love the 17, and can't imagine using a 16 for more than riding it home the first time. Probably good for wheelies, but not for cruising! ;)

I buy my front sprockets from DennisKirk.com (because they have the ones with the little hole for the lock-washer), but the rest from Z1Enterprises.com (because they're nice, cheap, etc).

If'n you want more info/help, just ask...
Remember, get a manual, do searches, post pics, and enjoy...
Again, welcome!
(1.) '75/'76 KZ400D - Commuter
(2.) '78 KZ750B3 Twin - Commuter
(3.) '78 KZ750B3 Twin - Commuter
(4.) '75 KZ400D - Sold
kz750twins.com

Chain and Sprocket question 30 Jul 2006 15:31 #65919

• SimonTemplar
  • User
Thanks for the welcome! :)