Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ 650 project 28 Mar 2020 17:42 #822067

• Bradykull
  • Bradykull's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
undefined undefined Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, so I'm not sure if the questions I have, have been covered already. Anyhow, starting a 1979 KZ650 project. Going to be doing a spin on the AC Sanctuary bikes. Ultra classic up top, ultra modern suspension, wheels, and brakes on bottom. Very similar to Dnell's kz650 fighter project. Zx6r front end, swing arm, and wheels.
Pictures to come!

Question, anyone know the stock rear shock length for these bikes?? I making this bike a runner, shooting for well above par in the turning/handling category. So I need to nail the rear shock and suspension work on this sucker. Moving top shock mounts down and forward like the AC Sanc. bikes. Shock ideas? Length?

Ps. I am no stranger to fabrication. I am a tig welder by trade and hobby machinist. Lay it on me!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ 650 project 01 Apr 2020 05:41 #822364

• riturbo
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 276
Welcome Post some pics of your bike .and another showing what your plans are . We love pics .
Gpz 750 turbo The one I ride
Gpz 750 turbo Not finished
Gpz 750 turbo Not started
Gpz 550 1981
Gpz 550 1983
Bunch of other junk

KZ 650 project 01 Apr 2020 09:23 #822388

• DoctoRot
  • Sustaining Member
  • Oh, the usual... I bowl, I drive around...
  • Thank you received: 664
pics are good. IIRC stock kz650 shocks are 13-13.25" Do you have any experience modifying a frame? Front and rear suspension are best considered together as raising/lowering the rear affects the front geometry and vice versa. I would determine how much custom work you want to bite off and select your suspension upgrades depending on that.

KZ 650 project 02 Apr 2020 21:01 #822510

• Bradykull
  • User