Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Wheel balance issues 02 Oct 2019 15:03 #811648

• BlackEyeCafe
  • BlackEyeCafe's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
I am a rookie to balancing tires however my 07 gsxr front wheel went flawlessly.

I have a 77 KZ650C rear wheel with a Shinko 705, bead locks and tube obviously. I identified the heavy spot used over an ounce of weight to balance. Then i started testing in 1/4 turn increments which identified another heavy spot about a 1/4 turn from the original heavy spot. I tried to balance based on that heavy spot however it is not working.

Could someone please explain to me how to fix this, without going to the shop.

Thanks
1977 KZ650 C
Jets - Main 115 - Pilot 17.5 - Needles - Position 3 - NGK BR7ES

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Wheel balance issues 02 Oct 2019 15:29 #811649

• Scirocco
  • Premium Member
  • Never change a running system
  • Thank you received: 1899
For a good starting Point, check first if the tire had a red dot on the side wall. This is the heavy spot of the tire and belongs to the opposit side of the air valve. A white dot is the lightest spot of the tire and belongs to the air valve. If you want to balance/matching the tire on the rim without an extra weight you need some extra time......

Last edit: by Scirocco.

Wheel balance issues 02 Oct 2019 17:24 #811652

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2829

Scirocco wrote: For a good starting Point, check first if the tire had a red dot on the side wall. This is the heavy spot of the tire and belongs to the opposit side of the air valve. A white dot is the lightest spot of the tire and belongs to the air valve. If you want to balance/matching the tire on the rim without an extra weight you need some extra time......