Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Andrews coils 10 Dec 2006 06:59 #98647

• Bluemeanie
  • Bluemeanie's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 14
Just won a set of andrews ign coils (#6262B) on ebay. Found with help of friend (spokewheels650B) that they would work on my stock point system. However, I have read articles about certain aftermarket coils need to have the ballest resister bypassed for them to work. I'm a mechanic but do not do electrical. Is this true?, do I have a ballest resister? If I need to bypass it, how is it done and why? Thank you...

Post edited by: Bluemeanie, at: 2006/12/10 09:59
1980 KZ650F1, Bought new out the door for $2,162.98!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Andrews coils 10 Dec 2006 10:14 #98696

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
To figure out if you have an inline ballast resistor, check the path of power from your right hand switch gear to your coils. The ballast resistor will be inline with this path. Check a wiring diagram for the color of the wire coming out of your right hand switch gear.

To determine if you need to bypass a potential ballast resistor, measure the primary impedence of the coils you just bought. Do a search in this forum... I have explained how to do this numerous times. Your primary resistance should be between 3 and 4.5 Ohms at your coils. If you find that it is in this range, and you find a ballast resistor, inline with the power, you will need to splice the power wire in to the power wire out without going through the ballast resistor which will add impedence and drag your spark down. A ballast resistor will look like a 2 inch long white thing with the power wires attached. It is usually between the fork tubes up by the fork OR on the battery box somewhere.
wiredgeorge Motorcycle Carburetors
Mico TX
www.wgcarbs.com
Too many bikes to list!

Andrews coils 10 Dec 2006 18:06 #98861

• Bluemeanie
  • User