• Page:

TOPIC:

Wiring on my KZ650 go kart 11 Jul 2006 03:26 #61011

• kzkart
  • kzkart's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Gday guys,
Brand new to this site but im making a go kart with a Kawasaki Kz650 engine on it. all i have to do is get the electrical side of it hooked up like coils and spark, but i have never worked on a kz engine before.

Does any one have an electrical wiring diagram for one, i have seen a couple on this site but they all have points. The eninge i have has electronic ignition could anyone also tell me what year the engine is by the engine no. KZ650BE128868.

Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Wiring on my KZ650 go kart 11 Jul 2006 07:22 #61056

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
www.zedder.com has some engine numbers as does buykawasaki.com under owner info/parts diagrams.

Get ahold of a 550 wiring diagram once you have figured out the year of the engine and you should be able to figure out how to wire the bike.

In general, you will need a regulator/rectifier, an ignition switch and a battery. You will need a starter button/kill switch and starter motor unless you plan on kicking the bike to start it.

Power will come from the alternator and go to the reg/rec. It will come out in on two circuits... the white/red which will go to your battery/main fuse and then to the ignition switch to become the source for several SWITCHED circuits and the brown wire which is the source for the unswitched circuits on the bike which are the ones that go through the two 10A fuses. By using the term switched, I refer to the igntion switch and not auxilliary switches that control the lights and stuff. The coils and starter button/kill switch are part of the switched circuits.