Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ650 H2 CSR not quite staying charged, Dyna Ignition or Headlight issue? 10 Sep 2018 17:10 #790692

• Murkus
  • Murkus's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to world of motorcycles and have come to wizards here for help.

The run-down:
1982 KZ650 H2 CSR
-Bike doesn't charge with all systems running. It can get (barely) above 13V when kept at 7-8k RPM for ~20-30 seconds
-Dyna Coils & Ignition (installed by previous owner), I know about the extra power draw
- 3-phase Perm Magnet Stator, checks out, but is a little nasty. Stator casing (as in the external engine casing) is missing a screw
-Rectifier passes diode test
-Bike DOES charge just fine when headlight is disconnected (above 14V when around 4k)

My conclusion is that the stock charging system isn't quite keeping up with the discharge of the full system + after-market parts. My solution, after some more testing (need to test the power draw of the headlight specifically), is to either buy a more effecient headlight or higher-output stator. Does that sound about right? Any other tests you guys can think of?

Thanks in advance, I've been scowering this website since I got the bike and it's been super helpful so far.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ650 H2 CSR not quite staying charged, Dyna Ignition or Headlight issue? 10 Sep 2018 18:15 #790697

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
  • Thank you received: 2611