Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Horn wiring ?

Horn wiring ? 07 Jul 2017 17:51 #766347

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Like to install a louder horn on my 77' KZ1000A. Getting a few ideas from members who are using different ones.

Instead of using my existing wiring harness and plugging into a new horn, the consensus seem to run a separate relay for it ?

What relay would you use and how would you wire this new horn into the the existing wiring harness ?

I like to keep the aftermarket horn in the stock location if possible.

Would this be the right wiring diagram to use ? If it is, what size relay and fuse would you use ?

77' KZ1000A
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by kzdcw.

Horn wiring ? 07 Jul 2017 20:59 #766376

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
I had the same issue with my KZ650-C1. The stock horn worked but wasn’t very loud. I wanted to preserve the stock appearance. So here’s what I did. I left the stock horn in place but added wiring to the stock horn wiring such that it now operated a relay in addition to the stock horn. I use that relay to operate a Fiamm horn which is tucked in behind the steering neck. That additional horn cannot be seen, but is certainly can be heard along with the stock horn. I used a FIAMM 72112 Freeway Blaster Horn (Low Tone - F) horn (see www.amazon.com/FIAMM-72112-Freeway-Blaster-Note/dp/B000DINKPQ ) and a JEGS Performance Products #555-10556 relay (see www.jegs.com/i/JEGS-Performance-Products/555/10556/10002/-1 ). Ed

Here is the wiring diagram for my additional horn:


Here is what it sounds like (click on FiammHorn_2017-07-07-2.mov below):

FiammHorn_...07-2.mov

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:
  • FiammHorn_...07-2.mov

The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by 650ed.

Horn wiring ? 07 Jul 2017 23:27 #766384

  • Scirocco
  • Scirocco's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Never change a running system
  • Posts: 2282
  • Thank you received: 1033
Yes, you are on the right way.
A relay can connect higher ampere without burning or melting together the switch button or over heating the cables
In the horn circuit you have to use cables with a thicker (cross-sectional area) copper core to get the best current flow.
A little detailed over view of the electric circuit



Michael
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 08 Jul 2017 15:01 #766434

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Are you guys using a 4-prong relay or 5-prong ? I can't seem to find a 4-prong ? Also what fuse size and electrical wire size are you using ?

And the biggest question, If I'm going to run just "one" upgraded louder horn, do I really need to run a relay ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by kzdcw.

Horn wiring ? 08 Jul 2017 18:02 #766440

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
I highly recommend you use a relay so you do not overload the stock wiring.

I use the relay from JEGS Performance Products #555-10556 (see www.jegs.com/i/JEGS-Performance-Products/555/10556/10002/-1 ). It has 5 wires, but you only use 4 of them. The diagram below explains that you use the connection from either 87 or 87A but not both. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by 650ed.

Horn wiring ? 08 Jul 2017 19:30 #766446

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Ed, Is there a horn that can be mounted in the stock location and fit within the front frame tubes toward the top behind the frame brace ? I haven't removed the stock horn but appears to be about 4" across. The stock horn is 12V 2.5 amps 105 db., so would one horn with a larger db rating be a noticeable difference in noise output ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 08 Jul 2017 20:42 #766450

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
I don't know. The Fiamm horn uses a little bracket that you might be able to use to attach it to the stock location (see www.google.com/search?q=FIAMM-72112-Free...sch&biw=1366&bih=612 for images). As far as the sound level the Fiamm horn reportedly produces 130 decibels at 4" and draws 6 amps (see www.amazon.com/FIAMM-72112-Freeway-Blaster-Note/dp/B000DINKPQ ). If you use it in place of the stock horn I would still put it on a separate relay to ensure there was no overloading of the wiring or horn button switch. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 09 Jul 2017 06:15 #766461

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 18929
  • Thank you received: 2138

650ed wrote: . . . Fiamm . . . If you use it in place of the stock horn I would still put it on a separate relay to ensure there was no overloading of the wiring or horn button switch. Ed

I concur.

As known, a relay enables using a larger-than-stock wire to provide voltage from the battery positive terminal to the horn, and sometimes may also be used to provide a heavier-than-stock ground wire from the horn to the horn button.

In more youthful days, I used dual Fiamm horns on a 1973 Z1 for several years as replacement for the stock horn without noticing any wire-overheating issue and without blowing the 20 amp fuse. I used the Fiamms in typical horn manner for producing relatively short blasts. At the time it simply didn't occur to me any need to test for stock wiring and/or fuse limitations, or by keeping the horn continuously blowing for a prolonged period.

The Fiamms were the closest to a semi truck horn that I could find at the time, and the loudest available without using the more ear-piercing air-horn style. And this may still be true today.

According to various reviews on Amazon, owners are still installing Fiamms without a relay, while using the stock wiring, and without blowing fuses.

All that said, using a relay does seem to be the safer and better practice when installing the higher amperage Fiamm horn(s). However, lack of a relay with Fiamms should not necessarily result in fuse-blowing or over-heated stock wiring when the horn button is pressed in typical short-blast horn-blowing fashion (not for prolonged continuous horn blasting -- who does that anyhow??).

Just my 2¢. :kiss:

Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Patton.

Horn wiring ? 09 Jul 2017 16:19 #766511

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Fiamm " Freeway Blaster " Horns show them in a "Low" Note or "High" Note model. If used or mounted separately , which one would be a better choice ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by kzdcw.

Horn wiring ? 09 Jul 2017 17:45 #766523

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
I don't know what the high note sounds like alone, but the low note is pretty loud. This YouTube video:
shows a test and it sounds very much like the test I ran after installing one low note horn on my bike which sounds along with the stock horn (click on FiammHorn_2017-07-07-2.mov below ). Keep in mind that sound is measured in decibels which is a measure of a pressure wave, so unlike some things one cannot simply add up the number of decibels from multiple sound sources to determine how loud something is. As an example, if there are 20 telephones ringing in a room the total sound certainly is not 20 times as loud as 1 telephone ringing in a room. If it was call center workers would quickly be deafened. Consequently, using 2 horns does not make the sound twice as loud. Instead, it may change the pitch of the sound heard even though the sound level is approximately the same. Ed

FiammHorn_...7-09.mov

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:

    FiammHorn_...7-09.mov

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by 650ed.

Horn wiring ? 13 Jul 2017 19:48 #766885

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Received my "Low Note" Fiamm 72112 Horn today . Pretty Anemic was expecting more. No comparison to the stock KZ Horn I have on the bike in noise level and sharpness. Stock horn is rated at 105 db @ 2.5 Amps.

Maybe just keep what I have or look for something else, but if this is what aftermarket horns sound like other than an air horn, then the search is over.
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 13 Jul 2017 20:03 #766890

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
If the Fiamm horn is not louder than the stock horn I definitely would send it back and tell them it is defective. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 14 Jul 2017 11:53 #766938

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 18929
  • Thank you received: 2138
To rule out a possible low bike battery or wiring issue, could test the Fiamm volume by short hot wire connections to a known good automotive battery.

Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 14 Jul 2017 17:29 #766961

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Ed or Patton, Now I just connected the 2-wire female ends of my wiring harness and slipped them on the 2-male terminal ends of the Fiamm horn just like my stock KZ horn and made the sound comparison by pushing the horn button. Definitely not as loud as my stock horn.

Motorcycle battery is fully charged and wiring working perfectly with stock horn.

I know a relay has been suggested when using this horn but that wouldn't make any difference now in testing it would it ?

Even if I didn't use this Fiamm horn on my KZ, I wouldn't mine using it on my 75' Goldwing.
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by kzdcw.

Horn wiring ? 14 Jul 2017 17:46 #766963

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
[quote="kzdcw" post=766961............
I know a relay has been suggested when using this horn but that wouldn't make any difference now in testing it would it ?
.[/quote]

Considering the battery was fully charged I would have expected the Fiamm horn to be louder than the stock horn even without a relay in the circuit. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 14 Jul 2017 17:48 #766964

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Sent a mesg. back to the seller, awaiting their response. Thank you for your responses !
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 18 Jul 2017 19:25 #767283

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Patton and Ed, Ordered a Wolo Chrome Air Horn # 519 for my 75' Wing and instead of jumpering off my stock horn 2-wire harness connectors, I ran jumper wires directly off the battery terminals to the horn terminals.

Wow !!! Made me jump, really loud. So then I took the Fiamm horn I tested earlier but instead of testing it at the horn harness connectors like I did earlier, I used the same jumper wires as above for the Wolo horn and ran them to the Fiamm horn.

Same great results, nice and loud as referenced in this Post from other members.

So what gives ? Why are these horns working as they should coming directly off the battery, where hooking them up to the horn harness then using the horn button resulted in a lower noise output ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by kzdcw.

Horn wiring ? 18 Jul 2017 20:28 #767289

  • 650ed
  • 650ed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 14540
  • Thank you received: 2528
I can't answer that question since mine gets power directly from the battery via a relay rather than running through the horn button switch, small wires, etc. I'm a big fan of using a relay for the horn. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 19 Jul 2017 08:16 #767304

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Yeah, I don't know either Ed ? Maybe the output voltage was suppressed to the Horn when just plugging into the harness and not using a relay, therefore a lower output volume of the Horn ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Horn wiring ? 19 Jul 2017 11:15 #767307

  • kzdcw
  • kzdcw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • 77' KZ1000A
  • Posts: 879
  • Thank you received: 13
Also, what gauge wires and fuse size are you guys using ?
77' KZ1000A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Powered by Kunena Forum