Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

305 CDI voltage source 15 May 2016 16:17 #726609

• punisher11b
  • punisher11b's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 22
Several years back i wrecked this bike when some lady pulled out in front of me. I love the damn thing but have become so stuck i have contemplated giving it a viking funeral. After running through every little switch, checking every wire, and working on and off on this issue for the last year i have yet to find why i can not get the thing to spark. I just need a little guidance as i am not very good with electronic ignition. i know the coils work just fine but can't get a voltage to them. When tracing back it turns out i have zero volts at my CDI. I can't seem to locate on the wiring diagram where the CDI should be getting 12V from. I have found that all the wires going into the CDI from the harness circled in blue are grounded leaving only the wires going to the pickup coils, ignition coils, and diode left ( circled in yellow) . My assumption is that it must need to get 12V from the diode or it is shorting across one of the other wires circled in blue before reaching the CDI. Does anyone know which wire is used to expose the CDI to the 12V source on this diagram? i am assuming it exposes the ignition coils to a 12v source constantly and disconnects it to cause the spark correct? i also have 0V going to the diode but if that is what is supposed to supply voltage to the CDI i will at least have narrowed down the problem within the circuit.

Attachment not found

- good luck
The following user(s) said Thank You: loudhvx

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

305 CDI voltage source 15 May 2016 17:10 #726628

• Patton
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 2098
Here's a link to the B1 in color which might help follow the wires, provided it's close enough to the B2 (which I haven't compared).

www.kzrider.com/filebase/category/46-kz305-electrical