• Page:

TOPIC:

Charge dropped, bike died, the search starts 24 Jun 2006 19:52 #56882

• bluegill
  • bluegill's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
80 750E1

Usually I see about 14VDC on the handlebar voltmeter, but today after about an hour ride I noticed that was dropping. Got down to 8 VDC or so. Before I could get home it started running crappy and finally died quite suddenly...no lights, no nothing, dead battery, no kickstart. Snot.

Maybe or maybe not related, the bike seemed really hot. Generator cover was hot enough to sizzle water from my drink.

I'm not an electrician. Been reading the forum quite a bit and it seems to me a likely approach is to...

check fuses
check wires overall
check wires from alternator specifically
look in alternator for bad wires under cover
replace reg/rec

If that doesn't work, replace stator, or rethink electronics completely.

You guys see anything else I should be doing here? Are these symptoms "classic" of anything?

Thanks

Post edited by: bluegill, at: 2006/06/24 22:53

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Charge dropped, bike died, the search starts 24 Jun 2006 21:11 #56893

• OKC_Kent
  • User
  • Thank you received: 20
Pull the battery and check the fluids too.

Check the connection to the reg/rec.

Charge the battery back up and run the Electrical System flowchart tests found in the filebase.
Oklahoma City, OK
78 KZ650 B2 82,000+ miles

Charge dropped, bike died, the search starts 25 Jun 2006 18:07 #57099

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
What type bike is this? Since your bike has a voltmeter, I suspect it is either not a 70s Kaw or is from another bike manufacturer. Perhaps the KZ750 has a voltmeter? I hate guessing at this stuff so please make your model/year clear when posing a tech question as I am reluctant to make guesses based on assumptions that will only make me look like an idiot.