Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

no indicator lights - help 08 Jun 2006 14:14 #53030

• KingOfBoggle
  • KingOfBoggle's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I have a 1979 KZ400 that I just bought last month. It has 15k miles on it and seems to be in pretty good condition, although I am a big novice with motorcycles so maybe I'm not the best judge.

I guess I have some kind of electrical problem with the bike but I'm not really sure what it is. I'll describe it in detail and if anyone knows where to start please help me out.

As of Saturday (5 days ago), the bike would not start, but there were no electrical problems as far as I can tell. The bike had been running fine but then was accidentally tipped over for a few seconds when I was moving it many weeks ago. I believed the carb to be flooded so I went to drain this (last night) and was successful. Then when I turned the ignition on, none of the indicator lights (neutral light, oil light, etc) came on at all. The indicator lights have always come on in the past, even after the bike fell over, and were working fine the last time I turned the ignition on on Saturday.

The only thing I think I might have done is maybe screwed something up when I read the voltage on the battery because I did this between yesterday Saturday. Other than that, literally NO work has been done to the bike and it has just sat underneath a tarp so I cannot figure out what went wrong.

To test the voltage, I was using this multimeter that I purchased a few days ago: www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=90899

I had it set to the "20V" setting and the battery read .55. Does this mean .55 x 20 = 11 Volts? I don't understand how to convert the .55 into a voltage. Also, even if the voltage is low, the indicator lights should still come on when the ignition switch is turned, correct?