Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

GPZ 550 Wiring Nightmare 23 Jan 2006 15:58 #19528

• Shoey949
  • Shoey949's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Well this is a nightmare for me because I have little to no electrical knowledge or experience. So I'm going to be needing a lot of help. I have a GPZ 550. The motor is from an '81 GPZ D1 and the rest of the bike including the wiring harness is from an '81 GPZ H2. I have a wiring diagram and I think I have all the proper wires connected. I however can only get the headlight and horn to work. The only way that I can get the starter to work is to connected a wire from the positive stud on the battery right to the starter lead. What are the major differences,if any, that I will encounter between the two years? Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Nate
'83 GPz550H2 w/'81 GPz 550D1 engine
Dynojet Stage 3 kit, MAC 4-1, UNI Pods, DYNA coils and plug wires, WG ignition mod

Grand Rapids, MI

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

GPZ 550 Wiring Nightmare 24 Jan 2006 03:07 #19598

• Duck
  • User
  • e vica na i sau na ga
  • Thank you received: 35
If you know hydraulic or pneumatic systems the wiring is pretty much analagous. Even to the point of transistors being similar to fluidic(not sure if this term is still in use) valves.

-Duck

GPZ 550 Wiring Nightmare 24 Jan 2006 03:35 #19599

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615
Shoey949 wrote:

I have a GPZ 550. The motor is from an '81 GPZ D1 and the rest of the bike including the wiring harness is from an '81 GPZ H2.

I think the gpz 550 H2 was an '83.

The D1 was the only gpz 550 in '81.

Post edited by: loudhvx, at: 2006/01/24 06:39

GPZ 550 Wiring Nightmare 24 Jan 2006 06:15 #19608

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
If you have wiring diagrams, then you can figure this thing out. Essentially, the solenoid/starter system works like this...