• Page:

TOPIC:

Coil problem, need help 27 Jun 2007 12:33 #153147

• Wilde
  • Wilde's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi,

I had a problem with poor sparks etc and made the recommended coil mod, everything went ok but now the bike only fires cylinder 2,3 occasionally (hate these non-consistent errors). I thought it was a bad connector at the 2,3 coil, cleaned it and the bike went as a rocket....for five minutes. I have cleaned all connectors I can find, have good voltage at the coils, good battery, new plugs, cleaned the spark plug connectors. So I need help, I have searched around and found that sometimes a coil can die when warm. Is there any sure way of testing that? I am rather new to bike electrics and if anyone have an idea I would be very grateful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Coil problem, need help 27 Jun 2007 12:48 #153151

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
I will try to answer your question like this... it MAY be a bad coil but it is also possible that the coil IS NOT the problem. When a coil dies, it is by heat, like most electronic stuff on a bike. The coil is up out of the airflow and gets pretty warm when the key is switched on. A coil is made of two sets of windings which are copper wound wire coated in insulation (plastic stuff I guess). When they get hot, the insulation will eventually fail. If the failure is in two places and the places touch, you get a short. When a coil shorts, it won't work as it should...

OK, to check the windings for shorts, you need to test the resistance of the primary windings and the secondary windings.