Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

do i need new coils? 12 May 2007 15:03 #139475

• mpfgrs
  • mpfgrs's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
The plugs on my 79kz400ltd have been fouling very badly. after a 5 minute ride, they are completely covered in soot. I was wondering if the coils were bad, and tested them today.

THe primary resistance is 4.8 Ohms. (the manual says this should be 4 ohms.)

The secondary resistance is 11.8K-12.2K Ohms. (manual says 13K)

Are these numbers close enough that my coil should be good

Do these results indicate a good or bad coil? both of these numbers are close to what the manual recommends, but are not quite on.

If i do need new coils, which ones doe i need? the options on Z1 are 3 or 5. I am assuming i would need to go with the 5? THanks in advance for any help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

do i need new coils? 12 May 2007 15:07 #139476

• CBerryment
  • User
I am not an expert by any means, but what is your VOLTAGE at the coil? That seems to be a big problem with these older bikes and it is pretty easy to fix with the coil mod.

CSB

do i need new coils? 12 May 2007 16:11 #139489

• katjbus
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
your readings appear fine, I believe you can have aprox. 10 to 15% diff. due to differences in multimeters and conditions. verify jetting and like previosly mentioned voltage, also verify timing and any air box restrictions

do i need new coils? 12 May 2007 16:30 #139494

• pstrbrc
  • User
  • '81 GPz 1100 project
  • Thank you received: 9
WiredGeorge's coil mod

This coil mod is a have-to on bikes as old as ours, just to make sure that the coils are really getting full voltage.
\'81 GPz 1100 project
Elkhart, Kansas USA
\"Man does not control his own fate. The women in his life do that for him.\" Groucho Marx

do i need new coils? 12 May 2007 18:04 #139523

• mpfgrs
  • User