Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

coil problems 07 May 2007 18:44 #138036

• coreylol
  • coreylol's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
hi there, i'm new to the board, and i'm also new to the kawasaki scene. i just bought a 77 kz200 a few weeks ago and i'm having a small problem. i think i've narrowed it down to the coil because the coil is getting really hot. basically the problem starts a few minutes after i start riding. the bike starts up first kick or 2, and runs smooth. then after it gets a little warmed up i guess it cuts out and usually goes dead leaving me stranded. i let it cool down a little and it starts right back up again. now at first i thought it was fuel, but it's definitely getting plenty of fuel. i had the bike sitting for about 10 minutes earlier today with the key in start position and the coil got really hot and started smoking. i quickly turned the key to off position and it stopped, but the terminals were so hot it melted the plastic on the coil a little bit. i tried cleaning the terminals because i thought maybe it was a bad connection, but it didn't help. should i just replace the coil? or what else could it be?

Post edited by: coreylol, at: 2007/05/07 21:46
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

coil problems 07 May 2007 18:49 #138040

• kzwolfsr
  • User
  • Thank you received: 16
If you are sure the coils are smoking they just may have a short and may need replacing
1979 KZ SR650, stock candy persimmon red and crossover pipes
1981 KZ 1000LTD with non stock and more comfortable handle bars and 4 into one V&H
Original man of the Caribbean

coil problems 07 May 2007 19:00 #138046

• coreylol
  • User
it's a single cylinder. and i'm pretty sure its the coil . it's the big plastic cylindrical thing the sparkplug wire comes out of. and it's melted on both sides. and gets very hot

coil problems 07 May 2007 19:47 #138057

• mark1122
  • User
  • Keep twisting it