Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

headlights out 23 Apr 2007 19:08 #133240

• Booncha57
  • Booncha57's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
my headlight wasnt working today on my way home from work. high and low are both out. the filament on the bulb looks fine. im not getting continuity on the low beam wire but the high beam doesnt work either. are they connected somewhere? the ground seems to be ok. the fuse looked all rusty and it says its a 10 amp but the only one i had (a 10 amp) had a thin wire compared to the one that was on there. i dont know if that matters. voltage on the high beam is only .05 im not too good at reading wire diagrams but it looks like the low beam only goes the switch. what should i do next? im horrible with electrical problems!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

headlights out 23 Apr 2007 20:10 #133270

• OKC_Kent
  • User
  • Thank you received: 20
From your description it sounds like the wiring connections are rusty? The fuse panel should be upgraded to a new style fuse block that uses spade fuses. At the minimum you should pull out each connector one at a time, sandpaper or steelwool them clean, spray it down with electrical contact cleaner, and use some di-electric grease on them when you plug it back together.

You will need to find out why you have no voltage to your headlight, there must be a bad connection somewhere.

Post edited by: OKC_Kent, at: 2007/04/23 23:12
Oklahoma City, OK
78 KZ650 B2 82,000+ miles
Attachments:

headlights out 23 Apr 2007 20:15 #133274

• Booncha57
  • User
ok, where did you get your fuse box from?

headlights out 23 Apr 2007 22:20 #133332

• RetroRiceRocketRider
  • User
  • ...bring in the machine that goes PING!
  • Thank you received: 29
Booncha57 wrote:

ok, where did you get your fuse box from?

A few of us here have gotten our fuse boxes THIS SITE. :)
Covina, So Calif!
78 KZ650-B2 = SOLD
84 ZN700 LTD = SOLD
84 ZX750 GPz = SOLD