Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1982 KZ650 CSR Carb Diaphragm questions and questionable mechanic? 13 Dec 2020 17:08 #839985

• Ninja1195
  • Ninja1195's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
I am in the process of working on my 82 CSR 650 as a winter project and to better learn bikes. I also own a 79 KZ650 as well as a 2004 ZRX 1200.

A local "friend of a friend" mechanic came over and told me among other things that my Mikuni carb diaphragms were shot even though they are nice and pliable with no tears at all. Claims that they are very hard to come by and he wanted $240 CAD from me to order new ones.

That or buy a set of used carbs from him for nearly $400 CAD

I am no expert but the carbs themselves are in pretty decent shape.

I watched a few Youtube videos and read through my manual. I soaked all parts in carb cleaner and them used my ultrasonic cleaner with some Dawn dish soap.

Am I being taken for a ride?

Thoughts?
1978 KZ650 B2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ninja1195.

1982 KZ650 CSR Carb Diaphragm questions and questionable mechanic? 13 Dec 2020 18:18 #839990

• Nessism
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2678
Sounds like it.

As long as the diaphragms are smooth and not all wrinkled up and torn you can reuse the slides.

You might want to post some photos (and please don't forget to click "insert all" before posting.)

Last edit: by Nessism.

1982 KZ650 CSR Carb Diaphragm questions and questionable mechanic? 14 Dec 2020 02:37 #840006

• Ninja1195
  • User
Thank you for the response.

Here are a few pics of the carbs including diaphragms too. As I stated, they are soft and pliable with no tears.

Would any one know off hand what model carbs these are and who sells the best rebuild kit?

Many thanks for the input and advice!
1978 KZ650 B2
Attachments:

1982 KZ650 CSR Carb Diaphragm questions and questionable mechanic? 14 Dec 2020 04:58 #840008