Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Carbs leaking from overflow tubes- my solution 14 Dec 2017 15:21 #776039

• nhsteve
  • nhsteve's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 8
So, I've been working on a '78 KZ1000B2 LTD this past fall, and discovered during the rebuild that I could not stop two of the carbs from leaking, no matter what I did with/to the float valves. I am pretty familiar with bikes in general as I worked as a mechanic from '73 to '81 for a couple of dealers (only one Kawasaki dealer though!). I cleaned and cleaned and adjusted and measured, but could not stop it.

Found this site, and proceeded to look at the index and see what any other members might have seen, and low and behold, others have had this happen also (KUDOS and thanks to Patton and others, your instructions on how to determine that the overflow tube was leaking was/is very good!). Didn't want to just a question that had been answered a dozen times already.

Sooooo......... I found the overflow tubes on the 2 suspect float bowls were indeed cracked, and a third looked like a brass-hungry woodpecker had been inside it looking for dinner.

See pics (hopefully) attached. The cracks are a very thin, barely seen line in a couple of them. The last should be the "holy" one (which was not leaking!!
1978 KZ1000B2 LTD
We can fix anything for time and money!!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Carbs leaking from overflow tubes- my solution 14 Dec 2017 15:32 #776040

• nhsteve
  • Sustaining Member
Well, what to do? As has been suggested, the very best fix is replacement with a solid, good, known float bowl. However, as far as I can see, that is not a purchasable part number. You want a new float bowl, you buy entire carburetor. You buy second-hand carburetor from eBay, you can't be sure if what you get isn't as bad as what you've got.