Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Severe Fuel Leak From Exhaust 20 Apr 2017 21:34 #759732

• EdwardDaggerhands
  • EdwardDaggerhands's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Fired up the KZ440 I bought off CL. I was planning on putting around the neighborhood, but immediately noticed a leak upon starting. The video provides an idea of what's happening (fuel being spattered until ignition is killed, at which point it just streams). Stops after a while, but proceeds in the same manner whenever bike is fired up. I traced the leak to a pinhole on the LH exhaust. Here is where I'm a little confused: the RH exhaust has an identical hole (I'll get some pictures up tomorrow when it's light out), so I'm guessing either a component is missing or they serve some sort of function. I'm a complete rookie, but it doesn't seem like fuel should even be in the vicinity of the exhaust while still in liquid form... Is this a correct assumption? What is the cause? What might the remedy be? Any advice would be much appreciated. Hoping this isn't too detrimental - really hoping to get on the road soon! Thanks in advance!

www.dropbox.com/s/v31d8xhz47jut9c/VID_20170419_192829.mp4?dl=0

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by EdwardDaggerhands.

Severe Fuel Leak From Exhaust 20 Apr 2017 22:24 #759738

• martin_csr
  • Away
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1620
If fuel is getting dumped into the exhaust system, then it's also getting into the engine oil, so you'll need to change the oil. The raw fuel may be that one cylinder isn't firing. When the engine is cold, you could start the bike & immediately start patting the exhaust header pipes to see if they are warming up. Don't get burned. One of them is probably cold, on the side where the fuel is leaking. Or to avoid getting burned, warm up the bike & spray-mist water onto the pipes to see if it sizzles.