Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Valve cover 07 Sep 2006 18:46 #75183

• Exitpupil
  • Exitpupil's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to these bikes. Can I just use an earlier model valve cover on my 79 KZ1000 to get rid of the smog system? Or do I have to keep the reed valve with my smog head?
79 KZ1000 LTD B3, 1075 kit, BS34 carbs, high velocity ported heads, K410 cams, V&H pipe w/custom baffle

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Valve cover 07 Sep 2006 20:17 #75199

• RonKZ650
  • User
  • Thank you received: 238
You can use an earlier valve cover, but you have to plug the air passages in the head that go to the smog system. It's been a long time since I had a valve cover off a 1979 KZ1000, but I believe there's just the 2 passages at the front of the head. If you dont plug them, it makes a huge exhaust leak, sounds like crap ect.
321,000 miles on KZ's that I can remember. Not going to see any more.

Valve cover 08 Sep 2006 05:52 #75245

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
The passageways Ron spoke of are journals that lead directly to the combustion chamber and come out in the exhaust valve area. If left unplugged, there is a good chance that flames will come out the holes and that seems like a poor idea since they are right under your gas tank. I suggest you check out APE's products as they sell really pretty billet plates that cover the reed valves and don't have the nasty looking nozzles sticking out of them. I am not positive but I also think the early valve cover won't have room for the cam chain idler... in other words, the older valve cover won't sit down on top that idler and you will have to change that part as well.
wiredgeorge Motorcycle Carburetors
Mico TX
www.wgcarbs.com
Too many bikes to list!

Valve cover 08 Sep 2006 08:49 #75276

• Exitpupil
  • Exitpupil's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
Thanks, the APE blockoff plates look like the way to go.