Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Daily driver/touring bike 02 Jun 2011 02:01 #454916

• XL777
  • XL777's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm not sure if this is the right forum to ask if so please let me know.

I'm wondering if anyone here uses their KZ as a daily driver or a touring bike? I live on the prairies and to get anywhere fun it is a 200KM one way trip.

I have been rebuilding my 78 KZ1000 for about 5 yrs now bit by bit and finally I have most of the kinks worked out. New top end and head, completely refreshed and upgraded elec. Actually it's easier to write what I have not done ha! (Clutch,transmission, suspension.) All three are to get an overhaul this winter if needed.

I guess basically I'm wanting to know if I can trust the "beast" as I like to call it to take me where I want to go. I know that is very subjective and based and the "quality" of work I have done. However is there anyone here who is logging more then weekend drives to the road house on a 32 yr road machine? If so what kind of maintenance do you do and lessons you have learn't.
2012 Triumph Bonneville SE black

1978 KZ1000 B2 LTD
Fresh top end rebuild
Rebuilt head
Wiseco 1015 pistons
Dyna s
Green Dyna coils
Wired george mod

It is easier to say what I haven't replaced then what I have.

I must love this cruel mistress since she hates me

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Daily driver/touring bike 02 Jun 2011 16:25 #454988

• Jay650
  • User