Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

1977 KZ1000 LTD 25 Jun 2020 15:41 #828995

• TheFlyingFreemole
  • TheFlyingFreemole's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 8
Hi All,
I've got another thread started in the projects section asking about input for parts, pieces, advice, and upgrades. Feel free to check that out and add anything. It can be found here !

I'm going to use this thread to do some simple updates on the process and progress of what I'm working on. I'm no professional, but hoping that my best effort is good enough.
1977 KZ1000 LTD B1 (needs minor fine tuning)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1977 KZ1000 LTD 25 Jun 2020 15:47 #828997

• TheFlyingFreemole
  • User
So I am starting with the gas tank while I put together an order list.

Used a wire wheel and took all the previous paint and rust off from the outside. Found a few bondo spots hidden from the previous owner.

From the looks of the gas cap and petcock I have my work cut out. The petcock intake stem is corroded and cracked and I cannot get any air flow through it in any position. Might have to replace the whole unit.

Will start tackling the inside of the tank soon. Aiming to remove the previous tank liner pieces, and get as much of the rust out as possible. Once cleaned up I plan to add Red Kote for future rust prevention.
Attachments:

1977 KZ1000 LTD 25 Jun 2020 17:01 #829008

• TheFlyingFreemole
  • User
Was going to follow some advice from here and use phosphoric acid to clean up the inside of the tank prior to resealing it. I wasn’t able to find any phosphoric acid or POR 15... the woes of small town inventory options.

I got a wild hair and decided I would try to get the tank prepped without using chemicals. Instead I went with electrolysis, using the tank itself to hold the electrolytes.