Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Hello from PA! 02 Feb 2019 08:12 #798066

• Cabbagio Redentor
  • Cabbagio Redentor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 5
Hello, I am Christian, I am a 21 YO college kid. I recently bought my first bike, a 1980 kz650 LTD in rough but running shape (no charging system) for $750. 30,000 miles on odo. I've had minibikes and go-karts and that sort of thing, but this is a step more complicated so I will probably need help with it.

Ive fixed the charging system (I'm majoring in electrical engineering), but I need to fix a tach oil leak, finish tracking down stock airbox parts, touch up the paint on the frame, put that airbox on, and get her running well.

Heres some pictures of her after I spent a week in my basement cleaning her. Theres a lot of cosmetic things Id like to tackle (rusting, torn seat, damaged levers) but Id like to get everything working before I send more money down that hole.
'80 kz650 LTD - Candy Red B A B Y

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Cabbagio Redentor.

Hello from PA! 02 Feb 2019 08:32 #798068

• Warren3200gt
  • User
  • Thank you received: 648
Hi Christian, welcome and the bike looks to be in pretty good condition. Well worth spending on to get her great. Im guessing the tacho leak is from the cable head joint? Simple fix just needs a new o ring on the tacho drive shaft. Suggest you download a workshop manual from this site to see what I mean.

Z1000J2 somewhat modified!

Hello from PA! 02 Feb 2019 08:46 #798071

• Cabbagio Redentor
  • Sustaining Member
I was surprised by how good it started to look after a good cleaning. Everything was covered in a a thick coat of grime, which may have protected it. That header that crosses under the others was a massive pain to clean.

Hello from PA! 02 Feb 2019 10:53 #798075

• Dragbike_Mike
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 103
Hey Christian -