Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

KZ900 Front Brakes 30 Apr 2021 06:33 #847751

• Lebowski
  • Lebowski's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
Hello everyone. So, I salvaged a KZ900 in really bad shape (paid $200). I've done a lot of work on the bike (see pictures), and I've opted not to restore it to original condition just to save some time and money. Anyway, I am now getting to the brakes. My bike has dual front caliper brakes. I'm far from a brake expert, so I'd rather just have new front brakes than rebuild the ones I have, but I couldn't find anything online. So, instead, I took them apart and cleaned them up. The old pistons were pretty pitted and beat up and all the rubber/plastic parts were in poor shape. I purchased two rebuild kits and rebuilt the brakes. I have all new brake lines, master cylinder, splitter, etc. I am in the process of adding brake fluid and bleeding my lines, but I have discovered that both brakes are leaking at the piston. Is there something obvious that I am missing here? The seals on the pistons are new along with the pistons. The only thing I'm not certain about is installation of the dust seal. There were no directions with the kit, and I really couldn't figure out the correct orientation for this thing. Could this be the issue i'm having? I'll try and get some pics added so you guys can help me better. Thanks for the help.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Street Fighter LTD.

KZ900 Front Brakes 30 Apr 2021 07:20 #847754

• Street Fighter LTD
  • TURBO, Its Better to be Blown than Injected
  • Thank you received: 1952
Nice project.
 I fixed your pictures. Next time click the insert all tab.
Did you have problems with the piston ring rubber seals fitting 
Nice polish job on the wheels . what did you use on them
Dave

Original owner 78 1000 LTD