Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1981 kz 1000 ltd; no spark, bad igniter? 01 Aug 2006 18:45 #66509

• the_mizark
  • the_mizark's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
so i'm a real newbie. both to the motorcycle world and to the mechanical world. i'll tear my house to bits and don't hesitate to mess with a table saw, but am a little intimidated by engines.

nonetheless...

so i came into a 1981 kz 1000 ltd, that isn't getting any spark. (i do have a mechanical friend, who's also a rider.)

so a couple of questions:
1- we were told to try the igniter. any thoughts there?
2- if not the igniter, other possibilities?
3- how could i test to see if the old igniter is working or not?
4- i've been checking on ebay for parts, are there other good sources for used parts? i don't have much cash to sink into this baby right now, but i'd love to get her running before it gets too cold. and with that question, how do i go about knowing which parts are the same off of other bike years? like does an 82 1000 ltd have the same igniter?

any help would be great, like i say i'm real green and eager to learn from you all!

thanks,
mark

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1981 kz 1000 ltd; no spark, bad igniter? 01 Aug 2006 19:05 #66517

• the_mizark
  • User
as i'm searching for igniters, assuming i need to, this one on ebay, is one year early, a 1980, but is an ic igniter but the wiring looks different. mine has 8 wires, in 2 plugs, this has 1 plug and 4 independent wires. would the igniter work if i modified the cables into the right plug?

here is the link:
eBay Link

thanks,

mark

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/08/01 23:19

1981 kz 1000 ltd; no spark, bad igniter? 01 Aug 2006 20:32 #66544

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
The part number for your igniter is 21119-1041, and some members have cross reference software and will be able to tell you what KZ's used that same igniter.