Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

installing new turn signals 01 Apr 2007 11:20 #125540

• Herby
  • Herby's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
heya. Newbie here. I just got this bike, a 1978 650 SR, and I want to streamline it from the get-go. This is my first bike, so I want to learn to ride without the bags/box/fairing. Basically I want to return it to the original look.
I'm mechanically proficient, but I'm a newbie to the motorcycle lingo, so take it easy on me.

I'm going to remove the boxes and the wind fairing, which seems pretty straightforward. Because the current turn signals are mounted into the bags and front fairing, I'll need to add new ones. Are these the right parts for the job?

www.americanclassix.com/kawa_accessorieslight.html

turn signals Code: TSA720

pegs Code: TSL720 - 95mm long

Do I use the same lights/pegs on the front and rear? Are the optional 58mm pegs simply for a more streamlined look? Do you think they compromise visibility/safety? Do they meet DOT safety Standards?

Besides replacing the turn signals, are there any other DOT standards that I should consider?

Do I need to get a ground collar? (Code: SGP720)

Thanks for helping and being patient with me. I'm excited about being part of the forum.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

installing new turn signals 01 Apr 2007 11:42 #125547

• neilage66
  • User
  • Thank you received: 5
Those signals look quite nice in the photos and would be a good edition to a bike as nice as yours. Price is not too bad either even comparing what OEM units might go for on ebay.
Question: Does the headlight go with the fairing (usually do) or is it in a "bucket" and re-attachable to the front fork ears on the bike? The answer to this question will help you decide whether you need the ground collar. You can check the following website for parts drawings and see if your model would have had a collar from the factory...let's see.