Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Carburetor problems 29 Jun 2023 16:40 #886630

• Dunemaster
  • Dunemaster's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
After recently buying a Kz750 F I found out that half of the engine floods when gas is supplied. When I started to take apart the carbs for float adjustment and seat cleaning, I noticed that what I believe to be the carb bowl vents are plugged on my carburetors. Is that what I am looking at and why would somebody seal them off? Should I try to unclog them or will it be fine to leave them as they are? I’m pretty new to carburetors so any help would be much appreciated.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Carburetor problems 29 Jun 2023 16:51 #886631

• Nessism
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2707
The vent Tee's look melted.  Maybe somebody tried to do a getto clean job and sprayed the carbs down with a solvent that melted the plastic?  

I'd do a full teardown of the carbs, and clean them properly.  Replace all the O-rings, and float needles (use Keyster.)  I have O-ring kits if you decide to bite the bullet and do a proper and full rebuild.  Don't waste money on "carb kits" because the parts are going to be inferior to the OEM parts, plus the kits don't have the proper O-rings anyway.  

Carburetor problems 29 Jun 2023 17:26 #886635

• TexasKZ
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 2089
The bowl vents are absolutely necessary for proper carburetor function. I agree with Nessism that a full tear down is needed. There is no telling what else is jacked up inside them. Be very careful with the slide diaphragms, they are quite fragile and surprisingly expensive.
Carburetors can be intimidating, but you have access here to folks who have rebuilt hundreds of them to guide you and answer questions.
1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough