Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

extremely High idle, need help! 16 May 2018 08:55 #783473

• Calvin9819
  • Calvin9819's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 4
Alright so I recently bought a 1982 Kz 550 LTD from a man about 60 miles from me. he drove the bike to my place with little to no problems. it needed some work, (Speedo broken, rear brakes bad, sprocket and chain needed fix) but overall it still drives and runs.

Recently while i was taking it out for a ride, the idle speed of the motor shot up to 3500 with the idle adjustment backed all the way out, and choke off. after a little more time it shot up to 5000 rpm and wouldn't come down. also, it takes a lot of effort to start the bikes. first it wouldnt turn over, then catch and run for a second or two, then it would run after a minute or two of trying again and again. I'm used to cars, as i'm a newly educated auto mechanic, but i know next to nothing about bikes, let alone old bikes. I'm guessing its an air leak.

I sprayed carb cleaner around some hoses and the carb mounting flanges and found when i sprayed on the flanges, the rpm did drop a bit. but only about 500 rpm. I'm going to replace all the vacuum hoses, and carb flanges. also ill be doing a clean air system delete as it has cold air intakes, and the large air tube is just sitting there doing nothing. its 2018... 82 emissions arent in effect anymore haha. But i was wondering if anyone on here could tell me any common problems these bikes may have with air leaks? maybe a cracked cylinder head i would need to replace or something of that nature.

also on a side note, recently when i was applying throttle on a ride, the throttle would just rotate and not pull the cable by the carbs, but after messing with it a little, it went back to normal. Its not a huge problem right now, but i think it will be in the future. Any suggestions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Calvin9819.