• Page:

TOPIC:

KZ1000 oil pressure gauge mystery 05 Jan 2020 18:22 #816525

• Flatblackobsession
  • Flatblackobsession's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
KZ Riders,
I am new to oil pressure gauges. Thought I'd come to you all with this and see if some of your experience can help me out.

I acquired an 1978 KZ1000 engine a while back and it came with a Marshall engine oil gauge installed. Problem was that the gauge was on a scale of 100 psi, so it hardly registered anything when the engine ran.

So, I ordered a new Marshall gauge that goes up to 15 psi and installed it. It's in the standard place, mounted to that oil port below the fourth cylinder.

As I understand it, the gauge is supposed to read around 3 psi at around 3,000 rpm, at 140 Fahrenheit.

This is what mine does (10w-40 oil, about 3.7 liters-- no oil cooler or other engine modifications):

When I start the engine cold (in January), it reads very, very high-- maxing out if I blip the throttle at all.

Once the bike has warmed up and reached a steady non-choked idle, it will read about 3 psi at about 3,000 rpm. I don't have a thermometer to measure the temp with, but I assume this is in the regular operating temperature zone, since the bike has warmed up and is idling as it should.

When I ride the bike, it seems to hold a steady 3 psi when I'm going down the highway and I have the bike right where it needs to be for cruising-- between 3,500 and 5,000 rpm.

But then, I have notice that after I have ridden for a good long while (maybe 30-45 miles), I'll look down and the oil pressure gauge will be zeroed out. No pressure whatsoever.

I have noticed that the gauge will also tend to do this after I have traveled down the several miles of dirt roads that lead to my home. Crawling along these roads with little air traveling over the engine tends to make things hot.