Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

'78 KZ650 Valve Adjustment Gone Wrong! 16 Apr 2019 04:45 #802221

• edouardpierre
  • edouardpierre's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Newbie here on the forums. First off...you all are great and have helped me tons so far. Thank you!

I have a 1978 Kz650SR D1A. I had it running quite well, however I had a leak coming from the valve cover so my plan was to simply replace gasket with new oem one. After successfully getting the old gasket off I figured I should check valve clearances using both factory method and easy "lobe facing directly opposite of bucket" method. Both methods showed I had to do some reshimming. I used the valve adjustment method that a generous soul had shared on here by moving one cam over at a time (my apologies for not remembering the name of that kind and knowledgeable person). This step I believe went well and was pretty straight forward. I didn't think I skipped a tooth at all but then when I put everything back together I'm not able to turn the motor over by hand with the 17mm socket more than two full turns. Just hits a solid block. I had undone the chain tensioner prior to removing cams and after inspection I decided to purchase the APE manual tensioner because of the praise I read about on this forum. When I put everything back together per the factory book I originally turned the motor over to make sure it was timed correctly and I must admit I felt some slippage and some not-so comforting grinding to the motor that I had never felt. Nothing has fell down into the abyss.

So... all and all I am stumped. I'm not extremely experienced with this motor nor a mechanic but find myself mechanically inclined. I believe the chain timing, cams, and all are out of what...sadly to say and admit. I'd like to give it a go if someone has suggestions before handing it off to the pros.

Thanks!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.