Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Trying to Avoid Restoration Gotcha's! 06 Feb 2006 09:01 #21890

• skippr76KZ
  • skippr76KZ's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Although my KZ900LTD restoration project has been going on for a little over a year. This month it has really kicked into gear. As I began the chassis assembly, equipped with all my service manuals, (Kawasaki, Clymer), Kawasaki.com parts diagrams and printed sheets of tips from the KZ forum. I began to notice little dumb mistakes I was making, like mounting a front wheel before the front fender. And trying to install exhaust mount dampers after the shocks and swingarm were in. No Room! Had to dissassemble and go a different order! Wow! And I'm just getting started! My question is this. What are some typical "Gotcha's" to avoid in piecing a bike back together so as to minimize having to disassemble and redo the order in various things. What has been some of your experiences I can learn from and look for?
1976 KZ900LTD Fully Restored
2000 Vulcan FI Classic
1998 Ducati ST2, Gone

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Trying to Avoid Restoration Gotcha's! 06 Feb 2006 10:24 #21900

• wireman
  • Visitor
just take your time and picture what the bike looks like put together,think about what will be behind what when your done,make sense?post some pictures maybe we can guide you in!goodluck,happy wrenching;)

Trying to Avoid Restoration Gotcha's! 06 Feb 2006 12:15 #21928

• skippr76KZ
  • skippr76KZ's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Not having issues at the moment. Just wanted to avoid future mistakes and see if anyone had some stories they wanted to share of any particular assembly problems they encountered on past or present projects.

I have some before and after pics that I will be continually updating at this link: skippr76kz.home.mchsi.com

Thanks! :laugh:
1976 KZ900LTD Fully Restored
2000 Vulcan FI Classic