Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1978 KZ1000, need instructions for ignition setup 26 Oct 2008 12:29 #243921

• rdhayward
  • rdhayward's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi folks. A friend of mine has a 1978 KZ1000 with the original dual-point ignition. It was running fine until he monkeyed with it.

No stores in town (Montrose, CO) have repair manuals in stock, and I've driven over an hour from Telluride to try and help.

I have all the necessary tools, adjustable timing light, etc., for working on old cars (I'm into old full-sized Jeeps, and also work on my own Porsche); I'm considered something of a local guru on setting up carburetors for high altitude. But I have little motorcycle experience.

Can someone please provide a write-up, or a step-by-step instruction (with pics?) for setting the point gaps, dwell, etc.

Thanks for letting me join your forum, and thanks in advance for the help!

Ralph

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by rdhayward.

1978 KZ1000, need instructions for ignition setup 26 Oct 2008 21:20 #244010

• PLUMMEN
  • User
  • Thank you received: 103
my typing sucks or id help you out!:laugh: got a fax machine?B)
Still recovering,some days are better than others.

1978 KZ1000, need instructions for ignition setup 26 Oct 2008 23:22 #244022

• donthekawguy
  • User
  • Thank you received: 8
Ask your friend what he did or thinks he did like move any parts or loose any screws or what not. Take a pic or two if you can and I'm sure as soon as someone sees this who knows about points will respond. If I get up before the sun goes down tomorrow (my flash doesn't work), I'll take a pic of mine and get it on here.
Rathdrum Idaho
1971 Kawasaki g3ss
1972 Yamaha R5 350
1965 Suzuki Hillbilly
1964 Yamaha 125

1978 KZ1000, need instructions for ignition setup 27 Oct 2008 03:58 #244030

• Patton
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 2098