Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

J motor oil leak. 03 Aug 2006 16:26 #66983

• IlllMikeIlll
  • IlllMikeIlll's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Alrighty guys gotta question fer ya. I have this oil leak that appears to be coming from the gasket between the cylinder head and the cylinder block. So I am thinking cylinder head gasket. It looks like this gasket is actualy a 2 peice gesket. My question is How difficult is this going to be. and could it be a matter of possibly just tightening or retourqing the bolts? if not is there a way I might be able to wiggle these gaskets in without having to totaly tear this motor down? That kinda scares me. Im new to motorcycles. I am a mechanic so I am not stupid. These things are just a totaly different beast. If this were a detroit then I would be fine..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

J motor oil leak. 03 Aug 2006 18:01 #67001

• RomSpaceKnight
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
You might get lucky with torquing bolts but doubt it. No way to just slip them in. They go over cylinder studs. Not that bad of a job to do. Can be done with engine in frame. Get a manual.

J motor oil leak. 03 Aug 2006 18:32 #67009

• IlllMikeIlll
  • User
yeah I got one. is this a pretty common spot to get an oil leak?

J motor oil leak. 03 Aug 2006 18:36 #67010

• RomSpaceKnight
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
Not necessarily common for J models but bikes in particular can be rough on head gaskets. High temps and high comp ratios. Bikes are essentially highly tuned race motors when compared to cars so suffer from race motor type ailments.

J motor oil leak. 04 Aug 2006 06:19 #67075

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44