Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

No compression....checking valve clearance 18 Jul 2006 18:52 #62990

• texdan
  • texdan's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Noob here. Long time lurker on the board...first time poster. I've had this bike sitting in my garage for quite awhile and am just now getting around to working on it. 1983 KZ1100 LTD L1. It's my first motorcycle. At any rate, the beast turns over, but no compression. So, following the Clymer manual, I've removed the valve cover and am attempting to put either cylinder 1 or 4 at TDC to check clearance. However, my timing cover doesn't seem to match up with what's listed in the manual. Further, at no point after turning the crankshaft clockwise does the cam lobes on any cylinder BOTH point away from the valve lifter at the same time. What next?

Thanks.
Texdan

[img size=150] [/img]

Post edited by: texdan, at: 2006/07/18 22:05
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

No compression....checking valve clearance 18 Jul 2006 18:53 #62991

• texdan
  • User
Sorry...picture upload failed...too large. Trying to figure it out but I'm an idiot! Anyone give me a hand here? Thanks!

[img=150]

Texdan [img=150]

Post edited by: texdan, at: 2006/07/18 21:57

Post edited by: texdan, at: 2006/07/18 22:14
Attachments:

No compression....checking valve clearance 18 Jul 2006 19:17 #62998

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
Read the "Rules" thread at the top of the forum, picture posting instructions are in the second post. Correction, third post in that thread :)

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/07/18 22:19
KD9JUR

No compression....checking valve clearance 18 Jul 2006 19:27 #63002

• RonKZ650
  • User
  • Thank you received: 237