Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1980 KZ550 C1 LTD Exhaust 09 Jan 2019 20:41 #796464

• LouisDePasquale1980KZ550C
  • LouisDePasquale1980KZ550C's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
Hey Everyone. New to the forum, and new to motorcycles. Picked up a 1980 KZ550 C1 LTD with 18,500 miles April 2018. Rode it for the season and now that it's winter I am going over the bike. New tires, sprockets, chain, brakes, etc.. The only cosmetic thing i would like to change on the bike are the mufflers. I would like something more cylindrical instead of the cone shape. After reading multiple posts I know that changing out the exhaust on the bike will increase flow. Which means I would have to re-jet the carbs to accommodate. Which I have never done before. And I realize it may be easy, but looking at doing anything with the carbs except cleaning. I don't want to mess with the point of no return drilling that could come with the re-jetting.

My questions are:

1) Does anyone make an OEM spec muffler that I can use with my existing headers? (same back pressure to avoid re-jetting)
OR
2) Must the whole header and muffler unit be replaced to get the desired look?
AND
3) If the whole exhaust system does need to be replaced for the desired look:
Are there aftermarket systems that wouldn't require re-jetting?

I already have $400 into it this winter. So I'm am trying to avoid (at least for now) spending another $300 to $500 on a whole new exhaust system. The exhaust I have is in working order. So I am fine with leaving it for now if re-jetting is the only option.

I appreciate any info you can send my way. And I look forward to learning more about my KZ.
1980 KZ550 C1 LTD
Central New York

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1980 KZ550 C1 LTD Exhaust 10 Jan 2019 05:55 #796476

• hardrockminer
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1021