Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

glowing exhaust 06 May 2006 19:13 #45590

• hiebs
  • hiebs's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello again. 77 kz750 twin. I removed the pods and put on a stock air box and the plug on the left facing from rear of bike is black while the right plug is white, in fact the exhaust pipe started glowing red. This was doing this prior to rebuilding the carbs, I had thought I had found the problem when I noticed a hole in a hose the goes between the carbs the synchronizing hose. that did not help, also when I kill power I get a very loud backfire after engine has stopped running, this is stock electrical. new plugs get discolored within minutes of engine running. I am very new to actually working on bikes, I am assuming I have a air leak still, but I am becoming quite frustrated. Or could timing cause this? I want to know what I need to check next. PS. It has a two into one exhaust.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

glowing exhaust 06 May 2006 20:11 #45602

• DanOz7Five0
  • User
While I cant answer specifically I do want to say DONT run this bike until you get some good answers. You can burn a valve or a piston with that lean cyclinder (the white one)

glowing exhaust 08 May 2006 17:39 #46004

• lemo32
  • User
  • The Price of Cool aint cheap
  • Thank you received: 2
you might check to see if you have both cylinders firing
i had the wires crossed on my 900 and only two cylinders were firing. i got the same backfire when i shut her down. rewired the cylinders and she runs great maybe a plug or plug wire. pull one plug wire off or quickly feel the exaust to see if the one opposite to the glowing is hot or warm.
1979 kz 1000 06 katana 750

glowing exhaust 08 May 2006 18:20 #46013

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
The cylinder with the glowing pipe is sucking air somewhere, most likely a cracked and leaking intake manifold.