Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

750-ltd poor compression 23 Dec 2006 13:58 #101389

• bonehead
  • bonehead's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
What a buzz kill, just got the engine running on a engine stand and did my first compression test..

#1 was 100 lbs , #2 was 90 lbs, #3 was 25lb and #4 was 78 lbs

So I added a little oil to the number 3 cyclinder and the it tested out at 90 lbs.

SO now I'm looking at new rings? Since I need to take apart the topend again, What would everybody do if it was you? At least this time I wont be fighting 15years of dirt/oil/grease....Thanks for all help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

750-ltd poor compression 23 Dec 2006 15:32 #101407

• Bluemeanie
  • User
  • Thank you received: 14
If you added oil and the compression went up then it's rings, sorry. Oil will settle in and temorarilly seal the rings, does nothing for the valves. I'm a mechanic and we do this at work all the time. On the bright side, it's not a big deal to pull the head off and if the cylinders mike out ok go ahead and hone them and slide new rings on. Oh what the hell!, let's just throw that big bore kit in!! :whistle:

Post edited by: Bluemeanie, at: 2006/12/23 18:35
1980 KZ650F1, Bought new out the door for $2,162.98!

750-ltd poor compression 23 Dec 2006 15:38 #101410

• larrycavan
  • Visitor
Depends on how far you're tearing it down and what you did or did not do the first time around.

If you didn't do a full inspection and measure things up properly, then I'd start right back at the start. Go through the bottom end, check bearing clearances, check piston to cyl clearance...address any problems you may find.

Top end only....rings and a valve job...

When a motor is completely apart, check everything...

750-ltd poor compression 23 Dec 2006 17:04 #101434

• bonehead
  • User