Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Z250 Single 30 Jul 2011 11:31 #465836

• sham
  • sham's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey guys, first time I'm here, and first post - from Sydney, Australia. I actually just started a build thread over at DTT, so apologies for reposting, but I'd love the input of kawa riders. As I say in the rest of the post, I really don't know what I'm doing, but it's been fun so far.

Intro:
So, after having posted in various sections, inevitably asking for help of sorts, I thought I would start a build thread, seeing as this has been the first day I've attempted to see what's happening with this bike. I'm not sure where this will go, to be honest I have 0 experience in any of this and have 0 skills which could be of much use as of yet, but I'm hoping to at least get this bike running again and from there, I'd love to make it as cafe as possible.

I'm hoping to use this as a log from a complete noob point of view, so that if there is anyone else out there who decides to buy a non running bike and then have no idea what to do with it, hopefully this can be a point of reference - for better or worse though I'm not sure.

Bike background:
Got this bike from Scott's Motorcycles in Sydney for $750. I sent them an email asking if they had any project bikes lying around and this one one of them. It had been sitting in the garage for 2 years, having run well before that before succumbing to a CDI issue. From my point of view, it looked like it was in a pretty good condition compared to the other bikes I was looking at in that price range, so I got it.

Photo of the bike as taken by the shop. I did see it in person, but honestly, it made no difference.

So once it was delivered, I had no idea where to start. The helpful people on the Australian DDT section definitely helped point me in the right direction. I was told to do the following: