• Page:

TOPIC:

degreeing cams 17 Jan 2007 07:21 #106268

• mark1122
  • mark1122's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Keep twisting it
  • Thank you received: 109
Hi guys.I finaly got my motor out and am checking it over.I just checked the cams and heres the #'s.Int opens at20 btdc. closes at 60.= 110 LC. Ex opens at 58* BBDC. closes @ 17* BTDC= 110.5 LC.These were taken @ .050". lift= .420" These are RC400 cams.The specs I got are int. 45* and 85* ex 85* and 45* duration310.I dont know what lift these #'s are at.So I'm new to this and could use your advice on wheather I should change any thing here?.Not sure why my #s are dif on in and ex .But I can tell you that I degreed them 23 years ago and didnt understand very well what I was doing(the bike sat in my barn for 23 years now I'm learning again and loving it)This will be a street bike ,see sig below.I ran it this summer and the motor came on strong at 6 to 7000rpm.But I felt it lacked torque,also blows a little oil(looks like a ring job is next)compresion was around 145psi.
Also just want to clarify if its accepable to use a feeler guage under the lobe to acheave 0 clearance for the testing(dial indicator is on bucket)?
76 KZ, frame gusset work,1200CC.Ported by Larry Cavanaugh, 1.5mm.over intakes, Carron Pipe, ZRX12 rear end, and seat,96zx9 front end.
01 CBR600F4i Track bike.
Cobourg, Ont. Can.

~ ~ ~_@
~ ~ _- \,
~ (k) / (z)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

degreeing cams 18 Jan 2007 08:44 #106607

• modprod
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Doing lobe center method doesn't require 0-lash on kaw cams. Having lash will just show less duation but lobe center will be the same.

degreeing cams 18 Jan 2007 11:15 #106630

• nads.com
  • User
  • Thank you received: 20