TOPIC:

Kz550 ignition wiring help. 01 Jan 2017 14:10 #751101

• alexromega
  • alexromega's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • first build and lovin it
  • Thank you received: 0

Attachment IMG_0416.JPG not found

I'm new to wiring anything like this so I got an m unit. I wired everything up to this diagram I made. I wanted someone to take a look at my wiring and tell me what I should do. I got everything in place but when I press the starter buttion I got nothing. I'm not sure if the starter button needs a power source but I'm not sure if I got the button wired correctly. If someone could direct me what I should do. I bypass the solenoid and the starter motor turns. I'm lost.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by alexromega. Reason: Pictures keep flipping

Kz550 ignition wiring help. 01 Jan 2017 15:41 #751111

• Tyrell Corp
  • User
  • "You were made as well as we could make you"
  • Thank you received: 260
I'm not sure if the starter button needs a power source but I'm not sure if I got the button wired correctly

Your solenoid is powered by the starter button, there is two thin wires from it + and - , energizing these powers the solenoid relay

If someone could direct me what I should do. I bypass the solenoid and the starter motor turns. I'm lost.

Bypassing the solenoid is the same as it being energised by the start button, relay closed or bridged has the same effect: the starter will turn.
Verify the starter button from the (disconnected) switchgear block connector and a meter.

Get a proper wiring diagram, you missed out the killswitch which feeds the starter button I think.
1980 Gpz550 D1, 1981 GPz550 D1. 1982 GPz750R1. 1983 z1000R R2. all four aces
The following user(s) said Thank You: alexromega

Last edit: by Tyrell Corp.

Kz550 ignition wiring help. 01 Jan 2017 17:05 #751118

• martin_csr
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1621