• Page:

TOPIC:

dyna III electronic ignition 31 May 2008 17:04 #217003

• jdsmithinc
  • jdsmithinc's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • You want some of this? Huh? Do ya?
  • Thank you received: 0
I have a firing problem on cylinders 2 and 3 on my 73 kz900. Basically I have no fire at all. I found a dyna III electronic ignition and wanted to know what benefits this system poses as well as any drawbacks. This is supposed to replace the points system on my bike. If I get it would going with new stock coils cause any issues? Also how hard is it to set the timing on this bike if I do this, because I have never done it before?
74 Kawasaki Z1 900
78 Honda CB 750
97 Ford F-150
Mustangs, too many to list on here (I like to rip the pieces of junk apart)
Located in Shelby, N.C.
If life gives you lemons make lemonade, then find someone whos life was given vodka and have a party.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

dyna III electronic ignition 01 Jun 2008 01:40 #217060

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615
jdsmithinc wrote:

I have a firing problem on cylinders 2 and 3 on my 73 kz900. Basically I have no fire at all. I found a dyna III electronic ignition and wanted to know what benefits this system poses as well as any drawbacks. This is supposed to replace the points system on my bike. If I get it would going with new stock coils cause any issues? Also how hard is it to set the timing on this bike if I do this, because I have never done it before?

The advantage of the Dyna III is that it gives the coils twice as much time to charge (called dwell) as the stock points. The other main advantage is that as long as it's working, you shouldn't have to touch it... meaning there's nothing to do for a tune-up.